Joan Steitz

Dr. Joan Steitz, Sterling Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry at Yale University, received the 2012 Priestley Award for her work on aspects of RNA processing, regulation and function, particularly her crucial discoveries concerning the fundamental roles of small RNA-protein complexes in cells, and for her long-standing advocacy for women in science.

Year Awarded: 

Hubert N. Alyea

Hubert N. Alyea, Professor Chemistry Emeritus at Princeton University, was awarded the Pirestley Award for his contributions to chemical education through "demonstrated chemistry" lectures and his "Tested Overhead Projection Series" (TOPS) curriculum. Dr. Alyea gave an address titled "The Spirit of Research in Teaching-A Demonstrated Lecture."

Year Awarded: 

Carl Sagan

Carl Sagan, Professor of Astronomy and Space Science at Cornell University, was awarded the Proestley Award for his contributions to the exploration of the universe through radioastronomy. Dr. Sagan gave an address titled "The Planetary Perspective."

Year Awarded: